Methodology: built from vendor pricing pages and documentation (TOPdesk, Freshworks, ServiceNow, Atlassian, Halo, ManageEngine, SysAid, Ivanti, EasyVista), G2 and Capterra review data, and one tier-3 benchmark (Vendr), all checked on 9 Oct 2026. No vendor reviewed or paid for this article. We did not run hands-on tests.
The strongest TOPdesk alternatives in 2026 are Freshservice, ServiceNow, Jira Service Management, HaloITSM, ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus, SysAid, Ivanti ITSM and EasyVista Service Manager. The right one depends on why you are leaving: interface and reporting point toward Freshservice or HaloITSM, enterprise scale toward ServiceNow, and staying on-premises toward ManageEngine, HaloITSM or Ivanti. This guide is for TOPdesk customers, many in Europe and the UK, weighing a move. It also covers what leaves TOPdesk and what you rebuild.
Key takeaways
- Reviewers rate TOPdesk's support well: 4.4/5 overall and 4.5 for customer service across 111 Capterra reviews (Capterra, as of 9 Oct 2026). Their complaints are interface, reporting and learning curve.
- Freshservice lists $19 to $99 per agent per month billed annually, with problem and change management from the $99 Pro plan (Freshservice pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- ServiceNow publishes no ITSM prices; Foundation, Advanced and Prime are sold by custom quote (ServiceNow ITSM pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- TOPdesk automatically anonymizes archived persons and operators after a default 6-month retention period (TOPdesk docs, as of 9 Oct 2026). Check this before deciding which history to move.
What to look for in a TOPdesk alternative
A TOPdesk alternative is an ITSM platform that can take over TOPdesk's core jobs: calls, changes, assets, knowledge and SLA reporting. TOPdesk lists Incident Management, Change & Request Management, Problem Management, Asset Management, Knowledge Base, Self-Service Portal, Dashboard & Reporting and Contract & SLA Management (TOPdesk platform page, as of 9 Oct 2026). You need equivalents only for the modules you use.
Three checks matter most for TOPdesk customers:
- Data location. TOPdesk SaaS is hosted in Australia, Brazil, Canada, the EU, Norway, the UK and the US, and TOPdesk says data "is never moved to another region" without written confirmation (TOPdesk SaaS information page, last updated 17 Dec 2025, read 9 Oct 2026).
- Deployment. TOPdesk "runs in the cloud for most customers, but we also support on-premises setups" (TOPdesk platform page, as of 9 Oct 2026). On-premises customers need an alternative that still offers it.
- Process fit. TOPdesk uses first line, second line and partial calls, and splits changes into simple and extensive (TOPdesk docs, as of 9 Oct 2026). Each needs a clear home on the target.
Why teams leave TOPdesk: what reviewers say
No public survey explains why customers leave TOPdesk, so we use only dated Capterra review comments. They describe friction, not failure.
- Interface. A banking service desk reviewer said TOPdesk's look and feel "are not as up to date as their more modern competitors" (Capterra, 3 Jan 2024). An education deputy director found the UI "quite complex and cluttered" (Capterra, 23 Feb 2026).
- Reporting. A biotechnology head of technical operations found the back end "limited in terms of analytics" (Capterra, 3 Jan 2025). An education CTO said built-in reports can be weak and pointed to the OData feed for Power BI (Capterra, 12 Dec 2023).
- Learning curve. A design lead cited "the pretty steep learning curve" (Capterra, 16 Feb 2026). A hospital vCISO said the model "is quite granular on having modules" (Capterra, 27 Apr 2026).
- SaaS limits. A cloud engineer wrote that some features "cannot be customized" in SaaS (Capterra, 12 Dec 2023).
Write down your own reason for leaving before you shortlist. It is the best filter you have.
How we picked these TOPdesk alternatives
We started from G2's TOPdesk alternatives list, which includes Freshservice, ServiceNow ITSM, Jira Service Management, SysAid, ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and Ivanti Neurons for ITSM in its first eight (G2, as of 9 Oct 2026). We dropped tools aimed mainly at managed service providers or project work, and added HaloITSM and EasyVista for their on-premises and sovereign hosting options.
Each tool had to cover incident, change and asset management. Prices come only from vendor pages, dated. Ratings come from G2, or Capterra when G2 has fewer than 50 reviews. TOPdesk's own pricing is not covered here.
TOPdesk alternatives compared
Vendor list prices and review ratings as of 9 Oct 2026. Your quote will depend on agent count, term and add-ons.
| Tool | Best for | Published price | Deployment and hosting | Rating | Key limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freshservice | Mid-market IT wanting a modern UI | $19 / $49 / $99 per agent/month (annual); Enterprise custom | Hosted; data center choice on all plans | G2 4.6 (1,359) | Problem and change from Pro |
| ServiceNow ITSM | Large enterprises | Custom quote only | Not stated on pricing page | G2 4.5 (1,992) | No public pricing |
| Jira Service Management | Teams already on Jira | Free (3 agents); $20 / $51.42 per agent/month | Cloud only; data residency from Standard | G2 4.3 (986) | Change management on Premium |
| HaloITSM | One price for every module | £66 per agent/month (annual) | Cloud, private cloud or on-premise | Capterra 4.7 (44) | Onboarding priced separately |
| ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus | Budget-led or on-premises teams | From $13 / $27 / $67 per technician/month (on-premises) | Cloud or on-premises | G2 4.2 (253) | Problem, change, CMDB are add-ons below Enterprise |
| SysAid | Mid-size IT with asset needs | $89 per agent/month; Enterprise custom from 20 agents | Hosted; private AWS instance on Enterprise | G2 4.5 (753) | 250 managed assets included |
| Ivanti ITSM | Hybrid deployment | Not published | Cloud, on-premises or hybrid | G2 4.0 (294) | AI needs 2024.2+ on SaaS |
| EasyVista Service Manager | Sovereign hosting needs | Not published | SecNumCloud option listed | G2 4.0 (102) | Delivery model not stated |
The 8 best TOPdesk alternatives in 2026
1. Freshservice
Freshservice is Freshworks' ITSM product and the first alternative G2 lists for TOPdesk.
- Why it fits: you choose the data center location on every plan (Freshservice pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Price: Starter $19, Growth $49, Pro $99 per agent per month billed annually; SLA management from Growth, problem and change from Pro; Freddy AI Copilot add-on $29 per agent per month.
- Rating: G2 4.6/5 (1,359 reviews).
- Best for: mid-market IT teams leaving TOPdesk over interface and reporting.
- Watch-outs: if you run TOPdesk Change Management, Pro is your realistic floor.
2. ServiceNow ITSM
ServiceNow is the broadest platform on this list and second on G2's TOPdesk alternatives list.
- Why it fits: incident, service catalog, asset management and CMDB sit in ITSM Foundation; problem and change sit in Advanced (ServiceNow ITSM pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Price: custom quote for Foundation, Advanced and Prime. Vendr reports a median contract of $129,871 per year across 109 purchases of all ServiceNow products (Vendr, updated Feb 2026), a cross-product figure, not an ITSM price.
- Rating: G2 4.5/5 (1,992 reviews).
- Best for: large organizations consolidating several service desks.
- Watch-outs: budget for implementation as well as licenses.
3. Jira Service Management
JSM is sold inside Atlassian's Service Collection with Customer Service Management, Assets and Rovo, and is "only available on Atlassian Cloud" (Atlassian licensing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Why it fits: service requests link directly to engineering work in Jira.
- Price: Free for 3 agents; Standard $20 and Premium $51.42 per agent per month; Enterprise via sales. Data residency from Standard; change management and advanced incident and problem management on Premium (Atlassian pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Rating: G2 4.3/5 (986 reviews).
- Best for: IT teams whose developers already use Jira.
- Watch-outs: no on-premises option, and a TOPdesk change process needs Premium.
4. HaloITSM
HaloITSM is sold at one price per agent, with no plan tiers.
- Why it fits: Halo lists Halo Cloud, Private Cloud and On-Premise deployment (Halo ITSM page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Price: £66 per agent per month billed annually, all modules included, end users free; onboarding packages are required and priced by scope (Halo pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Rating: Capterra 4.7/5 (44 reviews); G2 has fewer than 50.
- Best for: UK and European mid-market teams that want every module without gating.
- Watch-outs: get the onboarding quote early.
5. ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus
ServiceDesk Plus is ManageEngine's ITSM product, sold in cloud and on-premises editions.
- Why it fits: a mature on-premises edition for teams that must stay self-hosted.
- Price: from $13 Standard, $27 Professional and $67 Enterprise per technician per month (on-premises). Below Enterprise, problem management ($1,195) and change and release ($2,395) are annual add-ons, and CMDB is a $1,195 add-on on Professional. Standard is free for up to five technicians (ManageEngine pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Rating: G2 4.2/5 (253 reviews).
- Best for: cost-led and on-premises teams.
- Watch-outs: a TOPdesk setup with change and CMDB maps to Enterprise, or Professional plus add-ons.
6. SysAid
SysAid is an ITSM and asset management platform for mid-size IT teams.
- Why it fits: assets in the core product, and a private single-tenant AWS instance on Enterprise.
- Price: Professional $89 per agent per month (billing period not stated); Enterprise custom from 20 agents; both include 250 managed assets. The page lists multi-region data residency (SysAid pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Rating: G2 4.5/5 (753 reviews).
- Best for: teams of 20 or more agents with a large asset estate.
- Watch-outs: 250 assets is low for most TOPdesk Asset Management users, so price the asset packs.
7. Ivanti ITSM (Ivanti Neurons for ITSM)
Ivanti's page now leads with "Ivanti ITSM"; G2 still lists it as Ivanti Neurons for ITSM.
- Why it fits: "Deploy in the cloud, on-premises, or through a hybrid setup," with PinkVERIFY certification for 14 core ITIL 4 processes (Ivanti product page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Price: not published.
- Rating: G2 4.0/5 (294 reviews).
- Best for: organizations needing hybrid deployment and formal ITIL alignment.
- Watch-outs: Ivanti says AI capabilities require Ivanti ITSM 2024.2 or later on SaaS, so on-premises buyers should confirm which AI features apply.
8. EasyVista Service Manager
EV Service Manager covers incident, problem, change and service request, with knowledge and service level management in its feature matrix (EasyVista product page, as of 9 Oct 2026).
- Why it fits: EasyVista lists SecNumCloud availability under hosting options and offers no-code workflow configuration.
- Price: not published; EasyVista offers a tailored demo.
- Rating: G2 4.0/5 (102 reviews).
- Best for: organizations with sovereign hosting requirements.
- Watch-outs: the page does not say whether it is SaaS or on-premises, so ask.
TOPdesk vs Freshservice
The short answer: Freshservice scores higher with G2 reviewers on ease of use and setup, TOPdesk scores close on support and still offers on-premises. TOPdesk's G2 sample is small.
| G2 measure | Freshservice | TOPdesk |
|---|---|---|
| Star rating | 4.6 | 4.1 (30 reviews) |
| Ease of use | 9.2 (1,199 reviews) | 8.0 (23 reviews) |
| Ease of setup | 8.8 (984 reviews) | 7.3 (5 reviews) |
| Meets requirements | 8.9 (1,194 reviews) | 8.5 (24 reviews) |
| Quality of support | 9.0 (1,154 reviews) | 8.8 (20 reviews) |
| Mid-market share of reviewers | 61.7% | 46.4% |
Source: G2 Freshservice vs TOPdesk comparison, as of 9 Oct 2026.
Both let you choose a hosting region: TOPdesk across seven, Freshservice through a data center choice on every plan (TOPdesk SaaS information page; Freshservice pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026). The process models differ. TOPdesk splits calls into first line, second line and partial calls, while Freshservice separates incidents from service requests, so call types need a mapping decision before data moves.
TOPdesk vs ServiceNow
The short answer: ServiceNow is the bigger platform for bigger organizations, and it costs more to buy and run. On G2, 72.8% of ServiceNow reviewers are enterprises against 39.3% for TOPdesk.
ServiceNow leads on G2's ease of use (8.6 vs 8.0), ease of setup (8.2 vs 7.3) and meets requirements (8.9 vs 8.5), while TOPdesk leads on quality of support (8.8 vs 8.6), on 30 or fewer TOPdesk reviews (G2 ServiceNow ITSM vs TOPdesk, as of 9 Oct 2026).
Cost is the dividing line. ServiceNow publishes no ITSM prices, and problem and change management sit in Advanced, not Foundation (ServiceNow ITSM pricing page, as of 9 Oct 2026), so a TOPdesk Change Management user should price Advanced. If TOPdesk feels too small for a multi-department, multi-country operation, ServiceNow belongs on the shortlist. If you are leaving over cost or complexity, it rarely does.
How to choose between TOPdesk competitors
Start from your reason for leaving, then check deployment and data residency, then price.
| If your main reason is... | Shortlist | Check first |
|---|---|---|
| Dated interface, slow agent workflow | Freshservice, HaloITSM, SysAid | Which plan includes change and SLAs |
| Weak built-in reporting | Freshservice, ServiceNow, HaloITSM | Reporting on the plan you would buy |
| Must stay on-premises | ManageEngine, HaloITSM, Ivanti ITSM | Upgrade path and support terms |
| Enterprise scale | ServiceNow, Ivanti ITSM | Package level and implementation budget |
| Developers in Jira | Jira Service Management | Premium for change management |
| Region-locked hosting | Freshservice, Jira Service Management, EasyVista | Named region and backup location |
What switching from TOPdesk involves
Switching moves your data and rebuilds your configuration. Calls, changes, persons, operators, assets and knowledge items can move. SLA definitions, service windows, workflows, portal forms and running SLA timers are rebuilt on the new platform, not migrated.
Getting data out. Operators with export permission can export overviews and selections to Excel, with memo fields set to partial, entire or none (TOPdesk docs, as of 9 Oct 2026). Choose entire, or long descriptions arrive cut short. Asset exports are XLSX, and "relationships between assets are only part of the export file when all fields are exported" (TOPdesk docs). The REST API sits at /tas/api/, but TOPdesk notes "the extent of API support differs per process" (TOPdesk docs, Virtual Appliance 2023 R2 edition). Confirm coverage per record type.
Check what is already gone. TOPdesk anonymizes archived persons and operators daily after a default 6-month retention period, and this cannot be undone. It can also delete the request, action and description content of closed cards after a chosen period (TOPdesk personal data protection docs, as of 9 Oct 2026). Old calls may arrive with masked callers and empty descriptions. Archived cards also stay out of default overviews until you filter on Archived or All, so include them.
Loading into the target. Jira Cloud's CSV import recommends about 1,500 work items per file, and imported comments become public in JSM spaces. JSM calculates SLAs from issue history, so CSV-imported closed issues can keep counting (Atlassian docs and KB, as of 9 Oct 2026). Freshservice documents its Bulk API for migration partners, covering tickets and notes only (Freshservice support, as of 9 Oct 2026). ServiceNow loads through import set staging tables and transform maps (ServiceNow docs, as of 9 Oct 2026).
| What moves | What gets rebuilt | What's at risk |
|---|---|---|
| Calls (first line, second line, partial) with actions | SLA definitions, service windows, priority logic | Running SLA timers; only target and completion dates move as data |
| Changes (simple, extensive) with activities | Approval steps and phases | Approval history if the target model differs |
| Persons, operators, operator groups, branches, locations | Permission groups, assignment rules | Anonymized persons on old calls |
| Assets and relationships | Asset types, fields, discovery | Relationships, if not exported with all fields |
| Knowledge items and their links | Portal forms and service flows | Links between knowledge items and calls |
| Attachments | Reports and OData dashboards | Memo fields cut short by partial export |
MigrateX runs moves like this as a controlled change: mapped, test-migrated, cut over with delta sync, reconciled and signed off.
FAQ
Methodology
Every fact comes from vendor pricing pages and documentation, G2 or Capterra, or Vendr for one attributed benchmark, all checked on 9 Oct 2026. Ratings use G2 unless G2 has fewer than 50 reviews, in which case we use Capterra. TOPdesk pricing is deliberately not covered, and we did not run hands-on tests. Disclosure: MigrateX, the publisher of this article, runs ITSM data migrations, including between platforms named here. No vendor reviewed or paid for this article.