Methodology: we used vendor pricing pages, product pages, documentation and newsroom posts, plus G2 for ratings, all checked on 8 Oct 2026. No vendor reviewed or paid for this article. We did not run hands-on tests.
AI in ITSM now ships inside every major platform, but each vendor packages and bills it differently. ServiceNow meters Now Assist in "assists", Jira Service Management gives you a pool of Rovo credits, Freshworks sells Freddy AI Copilot as a $29 per agent add-on, and Zendesk charges per automated resolution. This guide is for ITSM owners checking what the AI ITSM features on their platform, or a new one, really do, which plan includes them and how usage is counted, from the vendors' own pages. We also show why these features read your ticket history, and what that means if you switch.
Key takeaways
- ServiceNow lists Now Assist in every ITSM package, but usage is counted in assists: an incident summary uses 1 and a small agentic workflow 25, against a contract entitlement (ServiceNow Now Assist Overview, effective 24 Aug 2026).
- Jira Service Management's Service Collection includes 250, 700 or 1,500 Rovo credits per user per month (Standard, Premium, Enterprise), pooled across the organization; extra credits cost $0.01 each from 3 Dec 2026 (Atlassian Rovo usage limits page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Freddy AI Copilot costs $29 per agent per month as an add-on, and Freshservice Enterprise includes 1,200 AI Agent sessions per year per license (Freshservice pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Freshservice says Resolution Insights works "from resolved tickets only" (Freshservice support, modified 3 Jun 2026), so history left behind in a migration is history the AI cannot use.
What AI in ITSM means in 2026
AI in ITSM is the use of machine learning and large language models inside a service management platform to classify, summarize, answer and act on tickets. Across the vendor pages we reviewed, it comes in four layers:
- Predictive AI: categorizes, routes and prioritizes tickets and scores change risk from past records.
- Assistants for agents: summarize long threads, draft replies and turn resolved incidents into knowledge articles.
- Virtual agents for employees: answer questions and log requests in Microsoft Teams, Slack or the portal.
- Agentic AI: agents that carry out multi-step work, such as fulfilling a request. This is what "agentic ITSM" usually means.
The layers matter because vendors price them differently: assistants are usually in the plan, while agents and virtual agent conversations carry meters and add-ons.
How we chose these AI ITSM tools
We included a platform only if it met three tests:
- It is a full ITSM or employee service platform with AI built in, not an add-on AI layer.
- The vendor documents its AI features and plan gating on its own site.
- The vendor states how AI usage is billed, or we confirmed it does not publish this.
There is no neutral public benchmark for AI ITSM outcomes, so any outcome number below is a vendor claim, labeled as such.
AI ITSM tools compared
| Tool | Best for | Starting price (source, as of 8 Oct 2026) | G2 rating (as of 8 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceNow ITSM | Large enterprises that want AI agents across IT and beyond | No public price, "Get Custom Quote" (ServiceNow ITSM pricing page) | 4.5/5 (1,989 reviews) |
| Jira Service Management (Service Collection) | Teams already on Jira and Confluence | $20 per agent/month, Standard (Atlassian pricing page) | 4.3/5 (986 reviews) |
| Freshservice | Mid-market IT teams that want AI without a long build | $19 per agent/month, Starter, billed annually (Freshservice pricing page) | 4.6/5 (1,359 reviews) |
| BMC Helix ITSM | Large operations teams, including Remedy customers | No public price, "Request Pricing" (BMC Helix ITSM page) | 3.7/5 (299 reviews) |
| ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus | Cost-conscious teams, cloud or on-premises | From $13 per technician/month, Standard, on-premises (ManageEngine pricing page) | 4.2/5 (252 reviews) |
| Ivanti Neurons for ITSM | Ivanti and former Cherwell customers on SaaS | No public price, "Contact Sales" (Ivanti product page) | 4.0/5 (294 reviews) |
| Zendesk for Employee Service | Organizations already running Zendesk | $29 per agent/month, Suite Team, billed yearly (Zendesk pricing page) | 4.5/5 (117 reviews) |
| Agentforce IT Service (Salesforce) | Salesforce-centric organizations | $75 per user/month, IT Service Desk Enterprise (Salesforce IT service management page) | No separate G2 listing found |
The AI ITSM tools, one by one
ServiceNow ITSM: Now Assist, AI agents and Moveworks
- What the AI does: ServiceNow says Now Assist for ITSM "summarizes incidents, suggests solutions, and drafts responses", and Predictive Intelligence categorizes, routes and prioritizes work. Prime adds AI Agents for ITSM and an L1 Service Desk AI Specialist (ServiceNow ITSM pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Plan and billing: Foundation lists Virtual Agent, Now Assist and Platform AI Foundation, and Moveworks for ITSM Foundation. Advanced adds AI Voice Agents. Only Prime can "create net-new custom AI skills and agents" (ServiceNow AI SKU documentation, updated 10 Sep 2026). Usage is counted in assists against a yearly entitlement in your contract, and ServiceNow may invoice overage (Now Assist Overview, effective 24 Aug 2026).
- Watch for: the assist entitlement and overage rate are not public. Get both in writing before enabling agentic workflows.
Jira Service Management: Rovo and the virtual service agent
- What the AI does: Service Collection Standard includes Rovo Search, Chat and Agents. Atlassian's Request Router agent suggests request type, priority and escalation, and drafts replies after it "analyzes details and comments from past similar work items" (Atlassian support, as of 8 Oct 2026). Premium adds the virtual service agent and AIOps for alert grouping, incident creation and post-incident reviews.
- Plan and billing: Standard is $20 and Premium $51.42 per agent per month. Credits are pooled at organization level, a Quick Answers chat message uses 10 credits, and each agent or AI feature invocation is a billable event (Atlassian Rovo usage limits page, as of 8 Oct 2026). Premium includes 1,000 assisted conversations a month for the virtual service agent, then from $0.30 each (Atlassian pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Watch for: agents called from automation rules draw on the same pool as people using Rovo Chat.
Freshservice: Freddy AI Copilot, AI Agent and Agent Studio
- What the AI does: Freshworks says Copilot drafts replies, condenses long threads and suggests field values from similar past tickets. The Freddy AI Agent handles employee requests in Teams, Slack and the portal (Freshworks Freddy AI page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Plan and billing: Copilot is a $29 per agent per month add-on. Enterprise, labeled "Freddy AI included", gives 1,200 AI Agent sessions per year per license; a session is any interaction one user has with the AI agent within 24 hours (Freshservice pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026). AI Agent Studio is a free promotion for Growth, Pro and Enterprise until 31 Dec 2026, and Freshworks says pricing "will be shared closer to the end of the promotional period" (Freshservice support, modified 24 Sep 2026).
- Vendor claim: Freshworks reports "41% Faster First Response Time with Freddy AI Copilot" (Freddy AI page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Watch for: your 2027 Agent Studio cost is not known yet.
BMC Helix ITSM: HelixGPT and agentic AI
- What the AI does: BMC Helix lists incident clustering, AI change risk analysis, knowledge captured from resolutions and AI assignee identification, and describes HelixGPT as an "open, bring-your-own-LLM approach" (BMC Helix ITSM page, as of 8 Oct 2026). Its 7 May 2025 release added Agent Builder for no-code agents and Ops Swarmer, which reviews how similar issues were handled.
- Plan and billing: BMC says HelixGPT "is not licensed as a separate SKU". It comes through the Service Management and ITSM SaaS or OnPrem SKUs, while Digital Workplace Basic and Advanced are not entitled (BMC HelixGPT licensing documentation, version 25.3). There is no public price.
- Vendor claim: BMC Helix cites 60% faster incident resolution from a customer story (BMC Helix ITSM page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Watch for: with a bring-your-own model, confirm who supplies and pays for the model.
ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Zia and Zia Agents
- What the AI does: Zia suggests categories, priority and technicians, predicts change risk, summarizes conversations and drafts replies, and ManageEngine says it "continuously trains on historical data". Prebuilt Zia Agents include an L1 ServiceDesk Specialist and a PIR Generator (ManageEngine AI page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Plan and billing: predictive, generative and conversational AI are in every edition "at no additional cost", and Zia Agents are in Enterprise. On-premises editions start at $13, $27 and $67 per technician per month (ManageEngine pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026). You can choose Zia LLM, OpenAI, Azure OpenAI or Google AI Studio per feature.
- Watch for: the page does not say what third-party model usage costs.
Ivanti Neurons for ITSM: Neurons AI and the self-service agent
- What the AI does: Ivanti lists ticket summaries, classification and routing, knowledge articles generated from resolved incidents, and an admin hub to switch AI features on or off (Ivanti product page, as of 8 Oct 2026). On 21 Apr 2026 Ivanti announced the Neurons AI self-service agent as a controlled release that "will not be enabled automatically".
- Plan and billing: no public price. Ivanti's documentation says its AITSM capabilities are for customers on a Premium or Enterprise Premium license. AI needs Ivanti ITSM 2024.2 or later on SaaS and is not available for FedRAMP (Ivanti product page and documentation, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Watch for: on-premises customers do not get these AI features.
Zendesk for Employee Service: AI agents and Copilot
- What the AI does: every Employee Service plan includes AI agents; Professional adds Admin Copilot and Enterprise adds Intelligent Triage (Zendesk Employee Service pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Plan and billing: plans start at $29 (Team), $59 (Growth) and $99 (Professional) per agent per month, billed yearly. AI agents are billed by automated resolution: 5 per agent per month on Team, 10 on Growth and Professional, then $1.50 each committed or $2.00 pay as you go. Copilot is a $50 per agent per month add-on (Zendesk pricing page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Watch for: check change, problem and asset depth against your processes.
Agentforce IT Service (Salesforce)
- What the AI does: Salesforce says its IT service desk agents "detect, triage, and resolve routine incidents", handle password resets and software provisioning, and give IT teams incident summaries (Salesforce IT service management page, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Plan and billing: the AI Agent for Employees edition is $15 per user per month, and IT Service Desk is $75 (Enterprise) or $150 (Unlimited). Salesforce says Agentforce flex credits "are included in IT and HR Service products, and are unmetered" (as of 8 Oct 2026).
- Watch for: Salesforce marks these prices "subject to change", so get the unmetered terms in your order form.
AI service desk pricing: assists, credits, sessions and add-ons
What's included, what's metered and what extra usage costs, from vendor pages as of 8 Oct 2026:
| Tool | AI included in the plan | What is metered | Extra usage or add-on |
|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceNow ITSM | Now Assist in every package; custom agents on Prime | Assists: summary 1, Now Assist panel conversation 5, knowledge article 10, agentic workflow 25 to 150 | Contract entitlement; overage may be invoiced, rate not public |
| Jira Service Management | Rovo from Standard; virtual service agent from Premium | Rovo credits (250 / 700 / 1,500 per user per month, pooled); assisted conversations (1,000 per month on Premium) | $0.01 per credit from 3 Dec 2026; from $0.30 per extra assisted conversation |
| Freshservice | "Freddy AI included" on Enterprise; Agent Studio free to 31 Dec 2026 | AI Agent sessions (1,200 per year per license on Enterprise) | Copilot $29 per agent per month; Agent Studio pricing not yet published |
| BMC Helix ITSM | HelixGPT inside existing ITSM SKUs | Not public | Not public |
| ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus | AI in all editions; Zia Agents on Enterprise | Not stated | Third-party model costs not stated |
| Ivanti Neurons for ITSM | AITSM on Premium or Enterprise Premium license | Not public | Not public |
| Zendesk for Employee Service | AI agents in all plans | Automated resolutions (5 or 10 per agent per month) | $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay as you go; Copilot $50 per agent per month |
| Agentforce IT Service | Agentforce flex credits included | "Unmetered" per Salesforce | AI Agent for Employees $15 per user per month |
Three billing models sit behind this table:
- Per-seat add-ons (Freddy AI Copilot, Zendesk Copilot) scale with agent headcount.
- Pooled consumption (Rovo credits, ServiceNow assists) scales with how often people and automations call the AI.
- Per outcome (Zendesk automated resolutions, JSM assisted conversations, Freshservice AI Agent sessions) scales with employee demand.
Forecast from your own ticket data. At list prices, a JSM Premium site with 3,000 virtual agent conversations a month would pay for 2,000 above the included 1,000, which is $600 a month at $0.30 each. Under ServiceNow's table, auto-summarizing 10,000 incidents a year uses 10,000 assists before any agentic workflow runs.
Which AI ITSM tool fits your team
| Choose this | If |
|---|---|
| ServiceNow ITSM | You want AI agents across IT and other departments and can negotiate assists |
| Jira Service Management | Your engineers live in Jira and Confluence and want one Rovo credit pool |
| Freshservice | You want AI assistants at a published per-agent price |
| BMC Helix ITSM | You run Remedy or Helix today, or need to bring your own model |
| ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus | You need AI on-premises or want it included in the license |
| Ivanti Neurons for ITSM | You are an Ivanti or Cherwell customer moving to Ivanti's SaaS |
| Zendesk for Employee Service | Your support team already runs Zendesk and IT needs are simple |
| Agentforce IT Service | Salesforce is your main platform and you want unmetered agent use |
Why AI in ITSM needs your ticket history
An AI assistant is only as useful as the resolved tickets it can read. The vendors' own documentation shows it:
- Freshservice: Resolution Insights reads "the subject, description, conversations, and resolution notes" of similar tickets and works "from resolved tickets only" (Freshservice support, modified 3 Jun 2026). Similar Ticket Suggester only uses tickets "of the same type within the same workspace" (Freshservice support, modified 28 Jul 2026).
- Jira Service Management: Request Router bases its suggestions on similar work items in a service space and "continuously learns from past similar work items" (Atlassian support, as of 8 Oct 2026).
- ManageEngine: Zia triage trains on historical data, and change risk prediction learns from past changes (ManageEngine AI page).
- ServiceNow: a ServiceNow employee's Predictive Intelligence FAQ on the ServiceNow Community recommends 30,000 through 300,000 records to train a classification solution (checked 8 Oct 2026).
That has three consequences when you change platforms. If the migration brings only open tickets, these features start with nothing to learn from. If it flattens conversations and resolution notes into one text field or an attachment, the AI cannot find the parts it reads. And tickets mapped to the wrong Freshservice workspace, JSM space or ticket type sit outside the pool the AI searches.
So treat history as an AI input, not an archive. Keep resolution notes, public and internal notes, categories and request types in their native fields on the target.
What switching involves
- What moves: incidents, service requests, problems, changes, knowledge articles and CIs with their history, conversations, attachments and links between records.
- What is rebuilt on the target: workflows, automations, business rules, SLA definitions, catalog forms and running SLA timers. AI agents, skills, prompts and virtual agent topics are configuration too, so plan to rebuild them rather than migrate them.
A controlled migration runs in six phases:
- Discover: inventory record types, volumes and the history the AI will read.
- Map: states, priorities, categories, groups, workspaces or spaces, and note visibility.
- Test migration: load a sample and check that AI suggestions use the migrated tickets.
- Cutover with delta sync: freeze, move the final changes and go live.
- Reconcile: compare counts, links and attachments.
- Hypercare: watch SLAs, routing and AI suggestions after go-live.
MigrateX runs ITSM migrations this way, as a controlled change with reconciliation and sign-off.
FAQ
Methodology
We reviewed eight ITSM platforms using each vendor's pricing pages, product pages, documentation and press releases, and G2 for ratings, all checked on 8 Oct 2026. For each, we recorded what the AI does, which plan includes it and how usage is billed, and marked what the vendor does not publish. Outcome figures are attributed vendor claims, and we did not run hands-on tests. Disclosure: MigrateX, the publisher of this article, runs ITSM data migrations, including between platforms named here. No vendor reviewed or paid for this article.